Portlaoise GAA Senior Footballers won the 1958 Laois Co. Final on the field but lost it in the courtroom.

On this day in 1958 the infamous case of the first Laois County title being won in court happened.

Portlaoise had beaten The Heath 3-07 to 1-04 in the men’s Senior football final only for it to be lost on objection in the Portlaoise Court House due to an “illegal” player Tom McCabe lining out for Portlaoise in the drawn final on October 26th 1958.


Below are the squad details from both games. 


Draw – Played 26th October 1958

Portlaoise 2-5

Paddy Bracken, Ned Wynne, John Keenan, John Dunne, * Tom McCabe, Alfie Lewis, Billy Bunyan, Phil O’Keeffe, Vincent Moran, Donal Dunne, Noel Delaney, Tom Preston, Eamon Phelan, Tom Phelan, Mick Donovan,


Subs: Christy Fitzpatrick, Tom Browne,
Rest Subs: Brian Stack, Richard ‘Sonny’ Brown, Larry Carey, Hugh Campion, Mick Larkin, Tommy Keogh. 

The Heath 1-8

Denis Conroy, Paddy Booth, Billy Hennessy, Tom McVeigh, Jimmy Conroy, Paddy Keyes, Jimmy Lalor, Sean Brennan, Peter Conroy, Dinny Rowe, Mick Browne, Tom Walsh, Jack Keyes, Paddy Crossan, Peter Keenan,
Sub: Brendan Conroy. 

Replay – 30th November 1958

Portlaoise 3-7

Paddy Bracken, Christy Fitzpatrick, John Keenan, John Dunne, Billy Bunyan, Alfie Lewis, Ned Wynne, Phil O’Keeffe, Noel McCabe, Tom Preston, Vincent Moran, Donal Dunne, Eamon Phelan, Noel Delaney, Mick Donovan. 

The Heath 1-4

Denis Conroy, Peter Booth, Billy Hennessy, Tom McVeigh, Jimmy Lalor, Jimmy Conroy, Tom Walsh, Sean Brennan, Peter Conroy, Dinny Rowe, Ollie Fennell, Peter Keenan, Bernie Conroy, Paddy Crossan, Jack Keyes
Sub: Jimmy Fennell

More To Explore