1962 – Laois Minor A Hurling Final

October 28th 1962

The Town beat Camross in the Laois Minor A Hurling Final.
Final score 8-9 to 2-3. 
Portlaoise won their tenth county minor hurling title in fourteen years in a disappointing final (for neutrals) by beating Camross 8-9 to 2-3. Brian Delaney placed John Fennell for an early goal and then shot another himself to set up the “Town” for a big win. Backed by the breeze they led by 6-6 to 0-0 at the break and from that position there was never going to be any significant threat from Camross in the second period. The minors had beaten Cuddagh by 6-5 to 3-2 in an earlier round.
Joe Scully, Paddy Fitzpatrick, John O’Shaughnessy, Tadhg Donovan, George Beere, Tom Byrne (Capt.), Larry Cunningham, Syd Harkin, Paddy Bergin, John Fennell, Ollie Byrne, Pat Walsh, Brian Delaney, Brendan Graham, Jack Kavanagh.
Ollie Cuddy (Rally), Mick Dowling, Mick Scully, Lar Moore, Jackie Dooley, Martin Bergin, Jackie Cuddy, Ger Cuddy, Paddy Dowling, Pierce Dooley, Ollie Cuddy, Kieran Parnell, Dinny Phelan, Billy Hogan, Tim Keenan.

More On this Day