1963 – Laois Minor A Football Final

October 27th 1963

The Town beat Stradbally in the Laois Minor A Football Final.
Final score 4-12 to 1-2. 
Portlaoise had an easy victory over Stradbally to retain their title, 4-12 to 1-2.
The big win was not on the cards at half-time when Stradbally led by 1-2 to 0-4. But Oliver Phelan and Paddy Doyle dominated midfield in the second half and the “Town” side scored at will.
Pat Scully, Paddy Ging, Tom Byrne, Tadhg Donovan, Mark Carroll, Don Phelan, Tom Walsh, Oliver Phelan (0-3), Paddy Doyle (0-1), Brian Delaney (0-2), John O’Shaughnessy (1-2), Pat Walsh (1-0), Paddy Bergin, Frankie Byrne (1-4), Jack Kavanagh (1-0).
Ned Kavanagh, Norman Conway, Chris Miller, Oliver Deegan, Ben Corcoran, Tom Miller, James O’Brien, Pat Miller, Dick Miller, Mark Delaney, Tom Dunne, Seamus Lalor John Conway, Tony Turley, Barry Feeney.
Subs: Pat Scully, James Carthy, Tom Walsh, Tony Maher, Jim Whittaker.
Referee: J. Byrne (Killeshin).

More On this Day