Development sub-committee formed

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on linkedin
Share on email

At an extraordinary general meeting of the club in July 2005 it was decided to allow a sub-committee explore all the development options open to them including a possible sale of their grounds at Fr. Browne Avenue and the development of a bigger site in the town.

Over 140 members voted to give powers to a newly elected committee to bring back the best options to the club membership for a final decision. John Hanniffy made a presentation at the meeting and these were enthusiastically received. 

Chairman, Niall Kavanagh, explained that it was important for the club to consider the way forward for the next 25/30 years and this was a part of that process.

More Club History To Explore

Profile: Cahir Healy

Cahir Healy is one of the finest dual players the club and county has ever produced. Known for his skill, dedication and strength Cahir was a phenomenal servant to the Town even commuting back from London weekly to line out for the club.

Here he answers a few questions in the 2016 book “C’mon The Town Portlaoise G.A.A. 1887 -2016”

Read More

The Rovers … a once great club

SLIOTHAIRS again slap on ash in Rathleague—after a pause of six decades or more. It’s a sound that evokes thoughts of a once great GAA club, The Rovers, that, alas, is fast fading from living memory.

Read More

A Home for The Town

There was a press conference held in the Killeshin Hotel in March 1978 revealing future developments of the club. The main speaker was Con Murphy the President of the GAA.

Read More