1954 – Laois Minor A Football Final

November 7th 1954

The Town beat Ballylinan in the Laois Minor A Football Final.
Final score 2-5 to 3-1. 
The minor footballers salvaged something for a year that promised so much and delivered so little. Portlaoise had to fight all the way to dispose of Ballylinan’s challenge for the title, which ensured that Portlaoise maintained its record of winning at least one minor title each year since the club was reformed n 1949.
It was not an easy victory by any manner of means and the sides were deadlocked as time ran out and darkness started falling. Fintan Walsh, a name for the future played a dominant role for Ballylinan and his side missed a chance or two in the dying moments to snatch the title. But it was Portlaoise’s Peter Ryan who shot the vital point in the dying seconds to give the Town victory on a 2-5 to 3-1 scoreline.
Tom Phelan, John Gorman, John Slattery, Har Walsh, Pat Dalton, Eugene Byrne, Kevin Bunyan, Alfie Lewis, Willie Doyle, Tom Preston, Donald Dunne, Peter Ryan, Brian O’Reilly, Jim Hughes, Seamus Galvin.
Ballylinan: John Kelly, Brendan Whelan, Billy Hickey, Mick Bolger, Mick Flanagan, Mick Grufferty, Billy Hyland, Fint Walsh, Oliver Brennan, Jim Delaney, Padraig Lacey, Barney Davis, Michael Loughman, John McCarthy, Aidan Walsh,
Referee: Tom Walsh (Stradbally)

More On this Day