1974 – Laois Under 21 A Football Final

October 27th 1974

The Town beat O’Dempsey’s in the Laois Under 21 A Football Final.
Final score 1-7 to 1-4. 
Portlaoise defeated the reigning champions O’Dempseys by 1-7 to 1-4 in the final. Playing delightful football a speedy skilful “Town” side caused an upset according to the Leinster Express.
Portlaoise dominated the opening half and led by 1-5 to 0-1 at half-time.
Martin Callaghan, Philip Rochford, Jimmy Bergin, Brendan Tynan, Kieran Daly, George Plunkett, Tony O’Neill, Eamonn Whelan, Liam Connell (0-1), Tom Prendergast (1-2), Liam Scully (0-2), Pat Keenan, Billy Bland, George Buggy, Pat Tynan (0-2).
Sub: Gerry Griffin.
John Finlay, Liam Finlay, Bernie Whelehan, Richard Slevin, Seamus Keogh, Terry Behan, John Nerney, Brian Nerney, Arthur Costello, Tom Tynan, Tom Slevin, Willie Keogh, Tony Coleman, Tony Kavanagh, Alo Corcoran
Subs: Dick Whelehan, Tom Kavanagh
Referee: Tom McDonald (Timahoe).
En route to the final, Portlaoise had defeated Crettyard 5-11 to 0-7, this included a remarkable 4 – 3 scored by Tom Prendergast, The Heath by 2-9 to 0-5 and Barrowhouse, 2-16 to 2-4.

More On this Day